Friday, January 29, 2021

Blessed To Be In Jones Hall Live For HSO Concert

Well it has been awhile but it is that time once again when my wife, Sheralyn, and I make that trek to downtown Houston on Saturday night, Jan. 30, 2021, to be in one of our homes away from home, Jones Hall, to hear our wonderful world class Houston Symphony Orchestra.  We are blessed to be a couple of the few [couple hundred] who will be attending - due, of course, to the Covid-19 virus still ongoing.  All the safety protocols [like all wearing masks-and social distancing going in and out of the concert hall and all of the seats far apart from others] will be followed. 

Our great Houston Symphony Orchestra will be led by guest conductor, Paolo Bortolameolli, featuring two masterpieces: Beethoven's Symphony #8 and Haydn's Cello Concerto. 

This from the Houston Symphony Orchestra website: "Houston Symphony Principal Cellist Brinton Averil Smith takes center stage for Haydn’s lyrical and virtuosic Cello Concerto No. 2, and the Houston Symphony performs Beethoven’s lighthearted Symphony No. 8 and Miguel Farías’s El color del tiempo.  Join us for socially distanced performances at Jones Hall."

Patrons of the HSO love our principal cellist, Brinton Averil Smith, truly one of the great cellists in the nation.

Beethoven's Symphony #8 is scored in the bright key of F-Major with 4 movements: 1. Allegro Vivace, 2. Allegretto Scherzando, 3. Tempo de menuetto, and 4. Allegro Vivace.  Haydn's pleasant Cello Concerto #2 is also scored in a bright key, D-Major, with 3 movements: 1. Allegro Moderato, 2. Adagio, and a cheerful 3. Rondo. 

As usual, when the fetching Sheralyn and I attend a concert at Jones Hall I like to give you a sample of the pieces that we will be hearing.  So, please turn up your volume, play in full screen and enjoy some great Haydn and Beethoven

Note: In the second video, Houston's very own director, Andres Orozco-Estrada, is leading the Frankfurt Radio Symphony.

F.J. Haydn: Cello Concerto #2 in D-Major:  

L.V. Beethoven: Symphony #8 in F-Major:  



No comments: