Friday, October 2, 2020

HSO Live Concert At Jones Hall Features Haydn and Dvorak

Wow, will this Saturday night be an exciting for me and my wife, Sheralyn.  We are two of the small number [maybe 100-200] who will be allowed to attend our great Houston Symphony Orchestra live in Jones Hall.  Of course, the reason there will be so few allowed in Jones Hall is safety concerns because of Covid-19.  All the safety protocols will be followed with everyone wearing masks, social distancing, entering and leaving Jones Hall, and in our seats with all at a safe distance away from other patrons. And all the orchestra members [except of course, those playing wind instruments] will be wearing masks. 


We have missed seeing our world class orchestra in Jones Hall so much, so we feel very blessed and excited to be able to attend this concert.  A great concert it will be featuring two of my favorite pieces, Franz Joseph Haydn's Piano Concerto in D Major, and Antonin Dvorak's Wind Serenade. 

This from the Houston Symphony Orchestra web site: "George Li brings dazzling piano fireworks to Jones Hall with Haydn’s popular Piano Concerto No. 11, which ends with lively Hungarian dance music. Plus, members of the Houston Symphony wind section are spotlighted in Dvořák’s charming Serenade in D minor and the concert begins with music by “dazzlingly inventive” (The New York Times) composer Anna Clyne."

Guest Chinese-American Conductor, Xian Zhang, will be leading our Houston Symphony Orchestra. 

Haydn's Piano Concerto is scored in  D Major with 3 movements: 1. Vivace, 2. Un Poco Adagio, and 3. Rondo All'Ungarese.  

Dvorak's Wind Serenade is scored in D minor with 4 movements: 1. Moderato - quasi marcia, 2. Minuetto, 3. Andante con moto, and 4. Allegro Molto.

It has been a very long time since I have been able to say this, but I am happy to say once again, as usual whenever the fetching Mrs. B and I attend a Houston Symphony Orchestra concert, I like to let you hear some of the wonderful music that we will be hearing live Saturday night.

So, please turn up the volume, play in full screen, and enjoy these two great pieces from the Classical Era composer, Franz Joseph Haydn, and the Romantic Era composer, Antonin Dvorak.

Note: The second video of the Dvorak wind serenade will feature the Houston Symphony Orchestra's own, Maestro Andre Orozco-Estrada conducting members of  the Frankfurt Radio Symphony.

Franz Joseph Haydn: Piano Concerto in D:

Antonin Dvorak: Serenade for Winds:  



No comments: