Wednesday, April 21, 2021

Mozart Is Simply Majestic

This was  first published in Sept. of 2016.

W.A. Mozart [Jan. 27, 1756-Dec. 5, 1791] 
One of the reasons Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is one of my favorite composers is he, maybe like no one else, could turn a simple, light motif into grand majestic brilliance.  This is certainly true in Mozart's piano concerto #26, ironically called his "coronation" concerto.  This was Mozart's next to last piano concerto that is popular because of its pleasant and yes, simple, but majestic quality.

This concerto is believed to have got it's name "Coronation",  because he [Mozart] performed this concerto in October of 1790 in Frankfurt at the time of the coronation of Leopold II as Holy Roman Emperor.

In a previous Tales post, it was stated that a piece scored in a minor key will often lead to a dark, dramatic mood.  While a piece in a Major key will usually be bright and have a happy character.  You can see this in Mozart's very pleasant "coronation" piano concerto in D Major. 

The first movement, Allegro, has a sunny, bright quality.  The relaxing Larghetto, second movement, begins at 15:17 in this video.  The third movement, starting at 20:45, has a theme that I noted in the opening of this post, that is simple, yet majestic

If you need something to brighten your mood up, you need go no further than listening to this piano concerto, which is "simply" majestic.  
Also, as an added bonus selection to show how Mozart can use a simple motif and turn it into a brilliant beautiful piece of music, I turn to my previous post called "Mozart's Simple Beauty" from April of 2013:  "In the first movement, Allegro moderato, of Mozart's 29th symphony Mozart opens with a scherzo-like two note motif that he develops fully into a beautiful substantial movement."  Think of that.  Mozart uses the shortest possible phrase of two-notes, that I think can be described as the major theme of the first movement.   

Who else could turn a two note theme into such a beautiful symphonic movement?

So, please turn up the volume to hear some "simply" majestic music by Mozart in his Piano Concerto #26 and the first movement of his Symphony #29.

W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto #26 in D Major, "The Coronation":

W.A. Mozart: Symphony #29 in A Major, movement 1, Allegro moderato:

No comments: