Friday, March 19, 2021

Welcome Spring Week 2021

In honor of Spring 2021, beginning this Saturday, March 20th to be exact, here are two great classical music pieces representing this wonderful season: Antonio Vivaldi's Spring violin concerto, the first concerto from his "Four Seasons", and the great American composer Aaron Copland's "Appalachian Spring".  

Aaron Copland [1900 - 1990]
Note:  The second video has Leonard Slatkin leading the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in Copland's magnificent piece - a truly American piece.  Before the piece begins, Maestro Slatkin gives a very moving story of Aaron Copland nearing the end of his life. 

The well known beautiful theme, "simple gifts", a Shaker hymn, begins slowly with the strings at the 23:27 mark and then develops into magnificent majesty by the full orchestra at the 35:07 mark. 

Please turn up the volume and enjoy Vivaldi's Spring, and Copland's, Appalachian Spring as we begin another new season for 2021. 

Antonio Vivaldi:  Four Seasons Violin Concerto #1 in E-Major,  "SPRING":

Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring:

Now enjoy a couple of  bonus classics to welcome in Spring:

Ella Fitzgerald:  Spring Is Here:

Frank Sinatra:  It Might As Well Be Spring:

Welcome Spring, 2021!

No comments: