Friday, December 20, 2019

Welcoming In Winter Solstice With Vivaldi and Haydn

While I know many of you will think we've already gotten here with some of the cold weather around the country, tomorrow, Saturday Dec. 21, 2019 is officially the first day of Winter. 

The Tales would like to welcome in Winter with the Winter Violin Concerto [the #4 concerto] from Antonio Vivaldi's "Four Seasons" [set of four violin concertos representing each of the four seasons].

The popular Winter concerto is scored in F minor and has the usual three movements in a concerto.  These are all short movements [in time]: 1. Allegro non molto, 2. Largo, and 3. Allegro.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy "Winter" from Vivaldi:

Because of Franz Joseph Haydn's great success and critically acclaimed oratorio, "The Creation" in 1798, he composed a secular oratorio for "The Seasons".  While it may not have been as well received or popular as Vivaldi's "Four Seasons", it is a very good, substantial, and serious work.  Here is Haydn's 'Winter' from that oratorio.

F.J. Haydn: "Winter" from "The Seasons"

Welcome Winter!

No comments: