Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov's Epic Tone Poem, Scheherazade

Two years ago, just after Thanksgiving, the Houston Symphony Orchestra had a great concert in Jones Hall that featured the Russian Romantic composer, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov's captivating tone poem masterpiece, "Scheherazade", led by HSO's great conductor, Maestro Andres Orozco-Estrada.

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov [1844-1908]
From the Houston Symphony Orchestra web page: "This Thanksgiving, AndrĂ©s conducts Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade. Inspired by 1001 Nights, this sumptuously orchestrated tone poem takes listeners along on the voyages of Sinbad and ends with an electrifying festival at Baghdad."

Scheherazade is a symphonic suite in 4 [program] movements: 1. The Sea and Sinbad's ship, 2.The Kalandar Prince, 3. The Young Prince and Young Princess, and 4. Festival at Baghdad.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy this beautiful epic piece by Rimsky-Korsakov. 

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade:

No comments: