Saturday, September 14, 2019

Slatkin-Bronfman Highlight The Opening of HSO's 2019/20 Classical Season

The world renowned Houston Symphony Orchestra begins its 2019/20 Classical Season this Saturday night, September 14, 2019.  The fetching Mrs. Sheralyn B. and I will be blessed to be in Jones Hall to hear our Grammy Award winning HSO start off the season with a blockbuster program.

What a treat this will be as legendary conductor, Maestro Leonard Slatkin will lead our orchestra in a program featuring Glinka [Kamarinskaya], Borodin [Nocturne], Tchaikovsky [Capriccio Italien], and a Rachmaninoff masterpiece, his Piano Concerto #3.  And besides being honored by the great Leonard Slatkin, virtuoso American/Israeli [born in Russia], Yefim Bronfman will be the pianist-soloist performing the Rach 3.

Leonard Slatkin [American Composer/Conductor Born Sept. 1, 1944 in Los Angeles]

From the Houston Symphony Orchestra website about opening night: "There is not a better pianist in the world. [Yefim Bronfman] is not a pianist merely for now but for all time.”—The New Criterion
Yefim Bronfman
Monumental doesn’t even begin to describe it. Prepare for an extraordinary concert experience when living legend Yefim Bronfman takes on the staggering virtuosity of “Rach 3,” a piece so demanding it’s often described as the Mt. Everest of concertos. Renowned conductor Leonard Slatkin leads the Symphony in colorful crowd-pleasers, including Tchaikovsky’s sparkling souvenir of Italy."

Rachmaninoff's ultra virtuosic Piano concerto #3 is scored in D minor, with 3 movements: 1. Allegro ma non tanto; 2. Adagio; and 3. Alla breve.

As usual, whenever the fetching Mrs. B and I go to a Houston Symphony Orchestra concert in Jones Hall, I like to share some of the pieces we will be hearing on Saturday night.  So, please turn up the volume, play in full screen and enjoy some Borodin, Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff.

Alexander Borodin: String Quartet in D Major, Movement 3, Nocturne:

 P.I. Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien:

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto in D minor:

A grand welcome to Houston Maestro Leonard Slatkin and Yefim Bronfman!

No comments: