Saturday, November 21, 2020

Interpretation Is In The Ear of the Conductor

One of the things that is great about going to classical music concerts is that even when you have heard the same piece of music many times, you almost always hear something new each time you hear it.  You may hear the staccato in a phrase of a certain section of the orchestra that you hadn't noticed before or you may hear the importance of a certain instrument in a phrase of the piece that for some reason you are just hearing for the first time.

Also, when you hear a piece you have heard many times by a certain conductor performed by a new conductor, the piece may sound different.   How is that you may ask?  It is the same piece with the same notes by the same composer and played by the same symphony orchestra and all that is different is the conductor, so why wouldn't the music be played the same way and sound exactly the same?

Maestro Andres Orosco-Estrada, conductor of the Houston Symphony Orchestra, I love his interpretations  
That is because each conductor, who conducts a piece by a famous composer, is interpreting the piece the way that they feel that the composer wants the music to be played.  All the great conductors study the composers and their music to try and get a feel of how that great composer wants their music to be interpreted.  There is no wrong or right way to interpret the piece of music as it is all in the "ear" of the conductor.  When you hear a piece played a little different than you have heard before, it is not because the conductor is doing it for changes sake or just to make himself unique, rather it is his understanding of how the composer wanted that music to be played.

How can a piece sound different when the orchestra is playing the exact same notes every time?  There may be a phrase that the conductor thinks should be shaped a certain way, or the dynamics might be interpreted different.  For example, a certain part of the music might be marked "f " for forte or loud...but how loud is loud...that is up to each conductor to determine.  Also, the tempo or speed of the piece can be interpreted differently by different composers.  Yes, the composer might mark a movement of a piece he has composed as "Allegro" which means to be played fast.  But how fast?  Different composers determine in their mind [from their understanding] of how fast the composer means the piece to be played.

There is one piece of music that I have heard many times, on recordings and at the concert hall, and I have almost never heard it played the exact same way.  This piece maybe the most recognized and it certainly one of the most beloved pieces of classical music, Beethoven's 5th Symphony [the opening movement].  The opening 8 note motif is probably the most well known opening of a classical music piece by even non classical music aficionados.

L.V. Beethoven - there have been many interpretations of his 5th symphony
The opening movement of this greatness may be the starkest example of how different conductors can interpret the same piece of music a different way.  And none of them are wrong.  

Here is an example of four legendary conductors, Herbert Van Karajan, Claudio Abbado, Leonard Bernstein and Seiji Ozawa, and their different interpretations of the opening of the first movement, Allegro con brio, of the Beethoven 5th Symphony:

Now here is the full symphony #5 by the great Ludwig Van Beethoven.  This masterpiece may be played as much as any other piece in concert halls around the world.  It was scored in C minor and has four movements:  1. Allegro con brio,  2. Andante con moto,  3. Scherzo - Allegro,  4. Allegro.  This stirring piece ends with one of the most exciting sustained climaxes in the symphonic genre.  

In this video, I love this interpretation of the Beethoven 5th by the great Maestro Gustavo Dudamel.  This is a great performance of Beethoven's 5th symphony.  Thanks for this video on You Tube from EmbavenezCanada

Please turn up the volume, play in full screen, and enjoy this genius masterpiece by Beethoven.

L.V. Beethoven: Symphony #5 in C minor:


Unknown said...

The technologies of the company have receive more works and wonderful benefits from their service. Our writing company is growth their writing service to other countries. It is very nice to meet and get more writing papers from online. The best essay writing service is posting more valuable writing papers to the students in technical way of writing.

Joel said...

Great post! Very informative!!

Big Mike said...

Thanks Joel!!