Saturday, September 17, 2016

The 2016-17 HSO Season Opens With A 'Knight' To Remember

Unfortunately the fetching Mrs. B and I will be unable to attend the opening night [Saturday] of the new 2016-17 Houston Symphony Orchestra concert season as it will be a night to remember...or I should say a "knight" to remember as Jones Hall will be graced with Sir Ben Kingsley narrating the epic classic by Prokofiev, "Peter and the Wolf." 

Peter and the Wolf is a wonderful piece especially for children and those new to classical music or a symphony orchestra as it portrays each of the characters in the narrative by the different instruments of the orchestra.  For example, the cat is portrayed by the clarinet, the wolf by the French Horns, and Peter is portrayed by the strings.  This piece is beloved by all concert goers, young and old alike. 

Also on this opening night concert will be Rossini's "Overture to the Thieving Magpie" and Richard Strauss "Suite from Der Rosenkavalier".  What a wonderful opening night to this 2016-17 HSO season.  I am disappointed we won't be able to attend. 

Here is this great classic, Peter and the Wolf, performed by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra with director Bramwell Tovey, doing the conducting and narrating.  

To see the legendary Sir Ben Kingsley narrate with the world class Houston Symphony Orchestra, hurry up and fly to Houston for tonight's performance. :-) 

Serge Prokofiev: "Peter and the Wolf" - performed by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, conducted and narrated by Bramwell Tovey:

Also, here is another piece that will be on the HSO opening night program, Rossini's Overture to the Thieving Magpie.

Giacomo Rossini: Overture to the Thieving Magpie:  

Also, to give you and example of our dynamic young director we are so proud of here in Houston, Maestro Andres Orozco-Estrada, watch this video [thanks to for this You Tube video] of Maestro Orozco-Estrada leading the Gothenburg Symphony [when he was on tour with them a couple of years ago] in Antonin Dvorak's exciting dramatic final movement of the New World Symphony. 

Antonin Dvorak: Symphony #9 in E minor, "From The New World", Movement 4, Allegro con fuoco:


Bedfordguy said...

Outstanding, as usual!

Big Mike said...

Thanks Bedford Guy!