Saturday, March 28, 2015

A Dream Night In Jones Hall

World Class Orchestra
It's symphony night once again in Houston at Jones Hall for the fetching Mrs. B and I and we are really looking forward to our world class Houston Symphony Orchestra performing a great concert program.

Felix Mendelssohn   1809-1847
It starts out with one of my favorite pieces by Felix Mendelssohn, his concert Overture To A Midsummer Night's Dream. The concert overture we will be hearing tonight  [Saturday] was also used by Mendelssohn, along with the famous Wedding March to make up the incidental music he composed for Shakespeare's play, A Midsummer Night's Dream. I love both the concert overture and the incidental music for the play. The overture is filled with beautiful melodies, typical of this giant Romantic Era composer.

Then will be a first time for us to see in Jones Hall the great Hungarian 20th century composer, Bela Bartok's Violin Concerto #2 with soloist, Augustin Hadelich.  The Houston Symphony Orchestra's website notes:  "witness why, according to the Houston Chronicle, Hadelich’s last performance at Jones Hall "exerted the kind of excitement that threatens to lift the listener right out of his seat."

After intermission will be one of the later symphonies from the great Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, his Symphony #39 in E-Flat Major.   This pleasant symphony has a positive, at times majestic quality, with a triumphant finish.  This symphony has the traditional four movements: 1. Adagio [introduction-then Allegro],  2. Andante con moto,  3. Minuette:Trio  and 4. Allegro.

Yes, this will be a dream night in Jones Hall tonight, "A Midsummer Night's Dream," that is.

As usual, when Mrs. B and I attend our great symphony orchestra at Jones Hall, we like to present a little sample of the pieces that we will be enjoying.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy.

Felix Mendelssohn: Overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream:

W.A.Mozart: Symphony #39 in E-Flat Major, Movement 1, Adagio-Allegro:

W.A. Mozart: Symphony #39 in E-Flat Major, Movement 4, Allegro:

No comments: