Thursday, July 23, 2020

Beethoven's Sustained Beauty

L. V. Beethoven
One of Beethoven's most famous piano sonata's is his sonata #14 in C-sharp minor known as his "Moonlight" sonata.  Most classical pieces with 3 movements have a fast, slow, fast tempo form.  Beethoven's moonlight sonata is unique in that the first movement is in a slow speed, the slowest of the three movements. The first movement is one of the more recognizable of piano sonata movements.  I am fairly certain you have heard this many times before.

The first movement is marked adagio sostenuto.  This means the movement is to be played in a slow sustained manner. The way this is done on the piano is to play in a strong legato form in which the notes are connected and the first note held well into the second note being depressed.  Another way for a note to be sustained [longer than the full value given] is for the pianist to use the middle pedal, which is called the sostenuto pedal.  When depressed, whatever note has been played while it has been depressed will sustain that note [and that note only] until the pedal is released.    The first slow movement is truly beautiful and moving.  

Beethoven's sustained beauty.

Tiffany Poon
I have found this wonderful playing of the Moonlight Sonata on You Tube by this young girl Tiffany Poon.  She was only 13 years old when performing this in the hall at Julliard School of Music.  On twitter she is @Tiffanypianist  On Facebook Tiffany Poon is here.

The talented virtuoso pianist, Tiffany Poon, is now 22.

Beethoven's great piano sonata #14 is in C-sharp minor with three movements: 1. Adagio Sostenuto, 2. Allegretto [which starts at 6:35] and the exciting movement 3. Presto Agitato [which starts at 9:08]

Please turn up the volume and enjoy Beethoven's beautiful Moonlight Sonata.

L.V. Beethoven: Piano Sonata #14 in C-sharp minor "Moonlight":

No comments: