Saturday, January 4, 2014

A Classical, Classical Night In Jones Hall

It will be a great treat again for the fetching Mrs. B and I tonight [Saturday] as we head to Jones Hall in Houston Texas to hear our great Houston Symphony Orchestra for two reasons.  One reason is that the concert program features two of my favorite composers, the two most important composers [in my opinion] of the classical era of music.  Franz Joseph Haydn who is the father of the classical symphony and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart who is the quintessential classical music composer.  So, this classical music concert is indeed a classical, classical concert.

Maestro Andres Orozco-Estrada
The second reason this will be a special night in Jones Hall is because the conductor tonight will be The Houston Symphony Orchestra's director designate [to officially take over in the 2014/2015 season] Maestro Andres Orosco-Estrada.  This will be the second time in this season's concert program that we will have had the pleasure to witness our new young exciting conductor.

To see how awesome Maestro Orozco-Estrada is, watch his conducting this European orchestra in Mozart's Marriage of Figaro Overture.  I love the expressiveness and pure joy he shows in conducting this fun piece.

Maestro Andres Orozco-Estrada conducting  Mozart's Overture to the Marriage of Figaro:

The concert we will see tonight begins with Haydn's symphony #59 called "the Fire" and finishes with Mozart's final symphony, his #41 "Jupiter" symphony.   Haydn's symphony #59 in A-Major is named the Fire probably because of it's energetic Presto first movement.  As stated before on this blog, many of Haydn's symphonies were given names [not by Haydn himself but usually by the critics of the time] to distinguish them from his incredible amount of 104 symphonies he composed.  It would be very hard to remember a Haydn symphony by its number.  In this four movement symphony after the presto movement comes an Andante, followed by a Menuetto & Trio, and the finale Allegro begins with a horn call.  As usual with a Haydn Symphony, this symphony has a light playful nature.

Stated so eloquently by the Houston Symphony's web site about Mozart's Jupiter Symphony in C-Major:  "Mozart’s brilliance shines through in his sublime final symphony, Jupiter. Drama, joy and energy are presented with the composer’s trademark elegance."   The final symphony Mozart would compose is in four movements: Allegro vivace, Andante cantabile, Menuetto & Trio, and Molto Allegro.  This Mozart symphony, unlike the Haydn, has more depth and seriousness in its character.  This being the final symphony Mozart would ever compose, many say, was his best [and one of my favorite symphonies].  It is truly a majestic symphony.  The Haydn "Fire"symphony was composed relatively earlier in the master's composition years. 

As always, whenever Mrs. B and I  attend the Houston Symphony, Tales likes to give a sample of what we will be hearing.  So, here is the Allegro movement of the Haydn symphony, and also the final movement of Mozart's final symphony.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy!

F.J. Haydn: Symphony # 59 in A-Major, "The Fire",  Movement 4, Allegro:

W.A. Mozart: Symphony #41 in C-Major, "The Jupiter",  Movement 4, Molto allegro:

No comments: