Saturday, November 17, 2012

The Hungarian Prodigy

It's symphony night once again for the "Tales" family.  The fetching Mrs. B and I will once again enjoy an evening at Jones Hall with the Houston Symphony playing: Beethoven's Leonore Overture #3, Franz Liszt Piano Concerto #1 and Carl Nielsen's Symphony #4 "The Inextinguishable".

Franz Liszt, born in Hungary in 1811, was a great pianist and composer in the Romantic era of music. He was considered a child prodigy as he was writing compositions at age 8 and performed in concerts at 9 years of age. The piano concerto we will hear tonight [Saturday] is a short four movement concerto in E Flat Major that plays more like a one movement piece as the central theme remains throughout the concerto. I really like this concerto with its varying moods. It displays at times the bright majestic mood of a piece that is written in the major key of E Flat Major, but it also, to me, has a dramatic eeriness to it. The four movements are: 1. Allegro Maestoso  2. Quasi Adagio  3. Allegretto vivace and 4. allegro animato.  The exciting climax lends for a virtuosic display by the soloist.

Because this is not a large work, less than 20 minutes, Tales can display the whole concerto in this video.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy what Mrs. B and I will be enjoying tonight in Jones Hall.

Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto #1 in E Flat Major:


eurobird said...

This was a wonderful gift, Michael, thanks. Hope you and the fetching Mrs. enjoyed the concert.

Big Mike said...

I had you in mind when I did this post Peter- great Hungarian patriot!!
God bless you good man!!