Saturday, September 10, 2011

The Romantic Mendelssohn.

Felix Mendelssohn is one of my favorite composers.  This German composer and pianist was a child prodigy.  This genius produced one of the great chamber pieces of all time at age thirteen. His String Octet in E Flat Major is a wonderful piece.  Along with his great Octet, Mendelssohn's most-performed works include his Overture and incidental music for A Midsummer Night's Dream, the Italian Symphony, the Scottish Symphony, the Hebrides Overture, and his Violin Concerto.

While Mendelssohn excelled in his use of the violin in his compostions, I especially loved his first two piano concertos.  His first piano concerto is really an exciting piece and his second concerto has one of the most beautiful romantic movements ever composed.  I just love the second movement of his concerto in D minor.   It is short in time, but not in beauty.  While most movements of a symphony or concerto have definitive breaks in between each movement, where the conductor will put down his baton and the players put their instruments in the resting position to get ready for the next movement, this is one of the few concertos that does not have that break in between the first and second movements.  So, you will hear the bridge that leads to the second movement first and the second movement actually starts at the 20 second mark.

Turn up the voume and enjoy!

Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto #2 in D minor, Movement 2:

No comments: