Sunday, April 14, 2019

This Violin Concerto's Beautiful 'Oboe' Solo

Johannes Brahms [1833 - 1897]
The beautiful slow movement of  Johannes Brahms Violin Concerto in D Major is, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful movements of any concerto.

While this is a violin concerto, there is a wonderful Oboe solo of the beautiful main theme that begins the concerto's second movement, before the entrance of the solo violin.  I have a feeling Oboe players relish to play this solo part for their symphonies. And I have a feeling this is one of the favorite concertos of violin virtuosos to solo in.

Please turn up the volume, relax and listen to this beautiful moving music of Brahms.

Brahms Violin Concerto in D Major, Movement 2, Adagio:

No comments: