Sunday, May 1, 2016

Mozart's Pensive Adagio

Best of the Tales:  I hope you enjoy this repeat post from the Tales

Mozart's Pensive Adagio 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  1756-1791
On this hopefully peaceful Sunday, Tales classical weekend turns to a somewhat somber, but oh so beautiful piece, by the quintessential classical composer W. A. Mozart. The Adagio movement of his great 23rd piano concerto.  This concerto is in A Major, a key which usually foretells a bright happy mood...and that is true for the first and third movements which are in A Major. But the Adagio movement is in a minor key, F Sharp minor, which often portrays a more somber, pensive mood.

You might find this unusual, that a piece marked in one key has one of the movements in another key but Tales has stated before that when a piece is marked in a certain key that means it begins in that key and almost always the piece will end in that key.  In between though, many times the key can change.  The second movement of this Mozart concerto while somewhat sad and thoughtful, is nevertheless very peaceful and beautiful.  While most of the movement has a somber mood, parts of the movement are brighter when it changes briefly to the A Major key. The movement ends back in its minor key.  This is one of my favorite movements from Mozart's piano concerti that I hope you also will enjoy.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy some pensive Mozart for this Sunday.

W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto #23 in A Major, movement 2 [in F Sharp minor], Adagio:

No comments: